Player Profile: Jake Loiben

Jake is the President of the Purdue Paintball Club and an awesome leader for the team! In addition to his profile, he answers some questions about Purdue’s upcoming season.

Jake Loiben

Nickname: Loibsauce
Occupation:  
Restaurant (jack of all trades), Junior at Purdue majoring in Multidisciplinary Engineering
Hometown:  Chicago, IL

Team:  Purdue, Project Mayhem, Joyride

Sponsors: Paintball Barn, Paintball Plex, Hammerhead, Crossfire, NCL Worldwide, Rockstar Energy Drinks

Position: I usually play the back line or doritos

How long you have been playing:  8 years

Favorite field:  The Paintball Barn, because the owner Micah has taken such amazing care of us throughout the years and it’s close to campus.

How did you first become interested in the sport:  I played for the first time at my friend’s 12th birthday party. We went to a woodsball field in Gurnee, IL called Paintball Blitz. Both of us got hooked and quickly bought our own guns, but I stuck with it throughout high school and eventually started playing PSP events. The rush you get at a national event is incredible.

Why do you play:  I’ve played hockey, football, baseball, basketball, soccer, and just about every other mainstream sport out there. Nothing comes close to the intensity of tournament paintball and no sport has as strong an emphasis on both individual skills and teamwork as paintball does.

Equipment: I shoot an 07 Ego with a Dye Rotor, Hammerhead carbon fiber barrel kit, Crossfire 68/45, and Dye i3 Pros are my mask of choice.

Notable wins or tournaments: My team finished in the top 4 at the 2010 PSP Chicago Open.

Things you are looking forward to  in the upcoming year:  PSP World Cup and NCPA Nationals. Oh, and getting my girlfriend to play. I’m sure she’d love to shoot me after all the phone calls I get about paintball whenever she comes over.

Favorite paintball memory: Making it to the finals at the 2010 PSP Chicago Open playing with my friends. We had a great time, plenty of hilarious bloopers throughout prelims, and the 6 inches of mud on every field made for an interesting playing experience to say the least.

Biggest piece of advice:I’ve always found that no matter how thoroughly you plan out an event in paintball, things will never go as expected. If I were to give one piece of advice to a new player, it would be to treat every event as a learning experience and make the most out of it even if things don’t go your way. There’s always another tournament and there’s always another adventure to be had. There’s no reason to hold grudges or get yourself worked up about that one bad call. In the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter.

Favorite pro team or player: My favorite pro team is San Diego Dynasty. I’ve been watching them since the day I started playing and I get to staff for them at PSP events. I learn so much from them and can apply many of the things they do to my own playing skills or my team. My favorite player on Dynasty is Alex “Mouse” Goldman, who is a great snake player and even walked the fields with my Purdue teammates at the most recent PSP event just to give them pointers and suggestions. He’s a stand up guy.

Big plans for the Purdue Team: When I began to plan out the 2011-12 season, I had four specific goals in mind. I want to take podium at any local event we play, win the college world cup, dramatically expand our recreational player base, and of course, win the national championship.

Planned Tournaments: Our two largest events of the year will be PSP World Cup and NCPA National Championships. We also plan on competing in the MWXL and Plex series.

If someone is interested in playing for Purdue, what are the qualifications/process for making the team? The only qualification to make the team is that you’re a full time Purdue student. The process for making the team involves trying out, making the cut, and being a good fit in our team; our family. We hold tryouts in September every year and usually take ~15 players for xball and the rest are invited to play 5-man until they’re ready for xball. Every player, including past Purdue players, must try out every year. For students that transfer mid-year or miss tryouts, we’d have to handle that on a case by case basis.

Fun fact: Heather Owens is an awesome photographer, but I can’t say the same for her hugs. (My response to that Jake: You guys are all like 12 years old. Don’t want to walk that fine line of sexual harassment of a minor. I’ll step it up next time.)

Other comments: Thank you for coming out to all our events Heather! (This year I’m actually going to play… and of course keep photographing and blogging!)

Leave a Reply

